31 days: communion

In the church world communion means that the service is going to run a bit longer than normal that Sunday. It means that we pastors wear white stoles and the communion table has more than just candles and a cross for adornment.

Communion means that we are celebrating the feast of our Lord in remembrance of the night God in Jesus Christ sacrificed himself for the life of the world.

Sunday, October 4, 2015 was World Communion Sunday. Ideally, every church gathering – from the Vatican to the underground house churches – across the globe will share the Lord’s Supper together in worship. For some, this may just be another Sunday. For some, this is the only time that year they will receive the sacrament.

This year the privilege of partaking in the sacrament began to take on a whole new meaning to me as I drove to the congregation where I was to pulpit supply. This was my first time every presiding over the Table on World Communion Sunday. (And this was the first time I’d every been “advertised” for leading worship and serving communion, too.)

IMG_2841

Knowing that many of my family and friends were unable to make it to church for World Communion Sunday, I’d like to share with you two resources for worship centering around communion.

The first is my sermon that I preached at Murray Presbyterian Church in Murray, NE. The congregation requested a special message about communion and I shared with them the connection between the Passover meal and the Lord’s Supper from 1 Corinthians. I hope the message is a blessing to you as it was to me to share and  to many members of the congregation who shared their thoughts with me afterward.

http://walkingemmaus.com/2015/10/06/world-communion-sunday/

The second is the music video they experienced while coming forward to receive the sacrament by means of intinction. This also happens to be the song I had sung at my ordination service while I presided over the Lord’s Supper for the very first time. Let the words wash over you, and if you feel so inclined, read and sing along!

Whatever communion looks like to you, it’s this: the meal that our Savior shared with his faithful disciples on the night that he gave himself up for us. For our lives.

So, join around the table.  Come to the feast.
Be fed.
Be nourished.
Be loved.

Leave a Reply

