31days: confession

As I was hitting “publish” yesterday on my post, the news broke of a school shooting at a community college in Oregon. A number of thoughts have run through my head, as I’m sure they have yours, too.

I’m tired.
I’m sick of hearing about gun tragedies.
I’m worn down from it.

Sadly, it doesn’t look like there’s much change coming in the near future that would help to prevent mass shootings. At this point, it’s not about gun-rights. It’s about human lives and life-rights. God created us to live and live joyfully. God didn’t intend for us to kill one another at all, much less on large scales and to create a name for ourselves.

We are a broke people. We are a hurting people.
We must confess this. We must strive to move past it. We must ask for God’s help, and Christ’s healing touch.

I just started reading a book that came highly recommended to me:Β The Murmuring Deep: Reflections on the Biblical Unconscious by Avivah Gottlieb Zornberg. I’m not far into this book but I’m already hooked. This is going to be a great read, friends. I was struck by her use of a volcano analogy for communication and the voids which lie in us. She says, “…the volcano, also hidden, unknowable, but explosive, repressing and expressing violent energy, heated beyond human imagining.”

The volcano. Violent. Heated. Repressing.
These are all words we use to describe “the shooters” in mass casualties.

But don’t these words describe us, too?

I encourage you to spend time today, tonight, sharing with God that which might hold hot, explosive, hidden tendencies in your life. Ask God to remove them from you, or at least help you to recognize them so that you can work to remove them yourself.

A person of great reverence to me once shared that they desired so much to not be like those who carried great influence over this person’s life that they awoke every morning to “make a conscious decision to be different.”

This.
This is change.
This is confession.
This is the hard work that must happen.

Not just in the world, but in ourselves. We must wake daily and make conscious decisions to be different.

You can do it.
I can do it.
It’s possible.
We can do all things through Christ who gives us strength.

Friends, find the courage. Find the strength.

Confess
and
be set free.


Join us tomorrow for another installment of #write31days and #31daysworship to explore Morning Praise.

One thought on “31days: confession

Leave a Reply

