31 days: applause

Thinking outside the box here. I’m going to be bold and make a theological connection between Lady Gaga’s Applause and a few Psalms.
Call me crazy, but I think there’s a link here. After all, Lady Gaga is a Roman Catholic, raised in the church and with a history of Catholic schools.

The song is her “come back” song after surgery, and the purpose was to show her fans what they mean to her and her art.
Looking a bit deeper, however, I see this song has some parallels to scripture.
No, I’m not saying to look at Lady Gaga as a “god figure,” but take a look at the words of adoration and then take a look at some of the words of adoration in the Psalms.

Applause

Psalms 95, 96, 100

 

I stand here waiting for you
to bang the gong
to crash the critic saying
Is it right or is it wrong?
If only Fame had an IV
Baby could I bear, being away from you
I found the vein,
put it in here

I live for the
Applause, Applause, Applause
I live for the Applause-plause
Live for the Applause-plause
Live for the way that you cheer and scream for me
The applause, applause, applause

Give me the thing that I love
(turn the lights on)
Put your hands up, make em touch
(make it real loud)
Give me the thing that I love
(turn the lights on)
Put your hands up, make em touch
(make it real loud)

A-P-P-L-A-U-S-E
Make it real loud
Put your hands up,
make em touch, touch
A-P-P-L-A-U-S-E
Make it real loud
Put your hands up,
make em touch, touch

I’ve overheard your theory
Nostalgia’s for geeks
I guess sir,
if you say so
Some of us just like to read

One second I’m a Kusnt
Then suddenly the Kunst is me
Pop culture was an Art,
now ART’s in POP culture, in me!

I live for the
Applause, Applause, Applause
I live for the Applause-plause
Live for the Applause-plause
Live for the way that you cheer and scream for me
The applause, applause, applause

Give me the thing that I love
(turn the lights on)
Put your hands up, make em touch
(make it real loud)
Give me the thing that I love
(turn the lights on)
Put your hands up, make em touch
(make it real loud)

A-P-P-L-A-U-S-E
Make it real loud
Put your hands up,
make em touch, touch
A-P-P-L-A-U-S-E
Make it real loud
Put your hands up,
make em touch, touch
Touch touch
Touch touch now

I live for the
Applause, Applause, Applause
I live for the Applause-plause
Live for the Applause-plause
Live for the way that you
cheer and scream for me
The applause, applause, applause

Give me the thing that I love
(turn the lights on)
Put your hands up, make em touch
(make it real loud)
Give me the thing that I love
(turn the lights on)
Put your hands up, make em touch
(make it real loud)

A-P-P-L-A-U-S-E
Make it real loud
Put your hands up,
make em touch, touch
A-P-P-L-A-U-S-E
Make it real loud
Put your hands up,
make em touch, touch

 

Psalm 95

O come, let us sing to the Lord;
let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation!
Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving;
let us make a joyful noise to him with songs of praise!

For the Lord is a great God, and a great King above all gods. In his hand are the depths of the earth; the heights of the mountains are his also.

The sea is his, for he made it,
and the dry land, which his hands have formed. O come, let us worship and bow down, let us kneel before the Lord, our Maker!

For he is our God,
and we are the people of his pasture,
and the sheep of his hand.

 

Psalm 96

O sing to the Lord a new song;
sing to the Lord, all the earth.
Sing to the Lord, bless his name;
tell of his salvation from day to day.

Declare his glory among the nations,
his marvelous works among all the peoples. For great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised; he is to be revered above all gods.

For all the gods of the peoples are idols, but the Lord made the heavens. Honour and majesty are before him; strength and beauty are in his sanctuary.

Ascribe to the Lord, O families of the peoples, ascribe to the Lord glory and strength. Ascribe to the Lord the glory due his name; bring an offering, and come into his courts.

Worship the Lord in holy splendor; tremble before him, all the earth.
Say among the nations, ‘The Lord is king! The world is firmly established; it shall never be moved. He will judge the peoples with equity.’

Let the heavens be glad, and let the earth rejoice;let the sea roar, and all that fills it; let the field exult, and everything in it. Then shall all the trees of the forest sing for joy before the Lord; for he is coming, for he is coming to judge the earth.

He will judge the world with righteousness, and the peoples with his truth.

 

Psalm 100

A Psalm of thanksgiving.

Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth. Worship the Lord with gladness; come into his presence with singing.

Know that the Lord is God.
It is he that made us, and we are his;
we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving,
and his courts with praise.
Give thanks to him, bless his name.

For the Lord is good;
his steadfast love endures for ever,
and his faithfulness to all generations.

 

What I see in this song is a reminder of the way that we should revere our God.
It should be about applause. Appreciation.
“Put your hands up, make ’em touch, touch…make it real loud…applause.”

Give God the thing that God loves.
“make a joyful noise to the lord.”
“worship the Lord with gladness, come into his presence with singing.”
“enter…his courts with praise.”
“declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous works among all the peoples.”
“for great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised; he is to be revered above all gods.”
“…come, let us sing to the Lord; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation!”

Praise. Give God the praise.
Always.

Leave a Reply

