31 days: just a big ole gamecock

Once again, Gameday…

If you couldn’t tell, I’m proud to be a Gamecock.
We win some, we lose some. But we’re faithful and we’re dedicated.

So dedicated, in fact, that we have alumni who write, produce and publish entire albums about our love of being a Gamecock.

The artist says of this song, “Just a Big Ole Gamecock” was the song that started it all for my Gamecock writing… straight from the fragile yet hopeful heart of a life long Gamecock fan.” I think that we can all relate, Patrick.

 

Just a Big Ole Gamecock
by Patrick Davis

Well… I barely slept a wink last night
Cause I could hardly wait…
To wake up this morning on game day
So as soon as I heard that rooster crow I set off on the road
Straight down 1-20 to the capitol city
Where the pretty Carolina girls go….

Cause I’ve heard all the stories of the great George Rogers
& how back in 1980 he made the whole nation holler
& I’ve seen that photograph of young Steve Taneyhill
Up in old death valley signing his name on the field
Yeah & I love to hear 2001 & feel Williams Brice rock…
Oh what else can I say
I’m just a Big Gamecock…

Well you know I come from a long line of cocks just like me.
Who never stop believing despite our history
Cause though we’ve had heartbreak & oh so many tears
I know one day I won’t have to say
Wait until next year…

Cause I’ve hear all the stories of 1984
& how if we’d just beat Navy we’d won it all for sure
& I’ve cheered for Todd Ellis, Duce Staley & Lou Holtz
& even at 0 & 11 I never gave up hope
Yes & I hate those Georgia Bulldogs,
Florida Gators & Rocky Top
Oh what else can I say
I’m just a Big Gamecock

Yes & when I die I have just one request
So if you could would you promise me this

Put a keg on my coffin inside the state fair grounds
Serve chicken & biscuits with all the fixins’
Gather everyone around
Have the ole’ ball coach say some words in his golf shirt & his visor
& then send the boys off to destroy them Damned Old Clemson Tigers…

Cause I’ve heard all the stories of the great George Rogers
& how back in 1980 he made the whole nation holler
& I’ve seen that photograph of young Steve Taneyhill
Up in old death valley signing his name on the field
Yeah & I love to hear 2001 & feel Williams Brice rock…
Yeah what else can I say…
Until my dying day…
I’ll be a South Carolina Gamecock…

 

GO COCKS!!

 

Leave a Reply

