31 days: i will lift my eyes

I was not a fan of Bebo Norman when I was first introduced to his music.
This song is one of the songs that changed my heart. The actual song that changed my mind about Bebo is “Great Light of the World” from 2002.
It took me a few years from when I was first exposed to him at Windy Gap in high school, but Mason loved his music and kept experiencing him in concert at Young Life camps and eventually he played a song for me that I fell in love with.
And then this one came along in 2006.

This song is the epitome of faith.
It’s a first-person prayer. It’s a song of doubt, but with that small mustard seed of faith that says “give it to God.”
One mustard seed, that’s all Jesus said we need. We could move mountains. Or, we could just eek out enough to say “God, I’m trusting you here. Do your thing.”

In our valley, God rejoices. Not because we have a God that relishes seeing us in despair.
No, God rejoices because we place our faith in God. We ask for help. We pass it off to the one who can handle it all.
We lift our eyes up from the valley…looking toward the hills…from where our hope comes.

Lifted eyes.
Crying out.
Unable to climb the mountains.
Drowning in the oceans.
Trusting.
Knowing, even very weekly, that God’s there.
Faith.

I Will Lift My Eyes
by Bebo Norman

God, my God, I cry out
Your beloved needs You now
God be near, calm my fear
And take my doubt

Your kindness is what pulls me up
Your love is all that draws me in

I will lift my eyes to the Maker
Of the mountains I can’t climb
I will lift my eyes to the calmer
Of the oceans raging wild

I will lift my eyes to the Healer
Of the hurt I hold inside
I will lift my eyes, lift my eyes
To You

God my God, let mercy sing
A melody over me
And God right here, all I bring
Is all of me

Your kindness is what pulls me up
And Your love is all that draws me in

I will lift my eyes to the Maker
Of the mountains I can’t climb
I will lift my eyes to the calmer
Of the oceans raging wild

I will lift my eyes to the Healer
Of the hurt I hold inside
I will lift my eyes, lift my eyes
To You

‘Cause You are and You were and You will be forever
The loving I need to save me
‘Cause You fashion the earth and You hold it together God
So hold me now

I will lift my eyes to the Maker
Of the mountains I can’t climb
I will lift my eyes to the calmer
Of the oceans raging wild

I will lift my eyes to the Healer
Of the hurt I hold inside
I will lift my eyes, lift my eyes
To You
I will lift my eyes, lift my eyes
To You

God, my God, I cry out
Your beloved needs You now

Last October I was able to win some free tickets for Mason, Luke & I to go to Nashville to hear Bebo in concert together as he recorded a special concert for Sirus/XM. It was beautiful to sit next to the man who introduced me to such a Godly artist, holding our baby boy, and enjoy a date that was all about praising God. After the one-hour concert, we had the opportunity to meet Bebo, and since it was such a small, intimate gathering, we were able to have a real conversation with him. I shared about my “coming around,” and thanked Bebo for having such an impact on Mason first, and eventually me. We introduced Luke to him and he shared that he was almost named Luke, too, after his grandfather. It was a beautiful night, and one that we’ll hold special in our relationship. Bebo actually dates back to the beginning of our relationship, many years ago.

Bebo will be retiring from music at the end of 2013. He has only a handful of concerts left this year, two of them being this weekend in Columbia and Charlotte. One is in Eastern Kentucky this weekend, and one is in Dubuque, IA next month. I share this so that my friends who live near those places will take the chance to go hear Bebo in concert, live. It will be an evening of worship that you won’t forget.

Just in case you can’t make it to see him live before this year ends, I’ve picked a recording of this song performed live for your enjoyment and/or introduction to Bebo Norman. Enjoy. Worship.

Leave a Reply

