31 days: words

This song actually sparked this series for 31 Days.
Words.

If you haven’t yet read my introduction to the series, you may do so here. That explains how I feel about words.

And why music is so meaningful to me.
Some people like it for the instruments and notes.
Others like the voices and sounds.
Still some like the special effects used to create a song.
Then there’s me. Music to me = words. Yes, I like the tunes and beats, but the words have always held the power for me.

And somehow, this song always seems to pop up on the radio at just the right time to convict me. It may not necessarily be for something that I have actually verbalized or plan to verbalize, but this song manages to put my heart and mind in the right as to words I may be thinking or feeling. Then, after I’m convicted, I listen to the words again and I’m reminded that what I say/do/write/feel reflects God and others. Sometimes I’m ashamed. But there’s grace.

Thank God for grace.

Words
by Hawk Nelson

They’ve made me feel like a prisoner
They’ve made me feel set free
They’ve made me feel like a criminal
Made me feel like a king
They’ve lifted my heart to places I’ve never been
They’ve dragged me down back to where I began

Words can build you up
Words can break you down
Start a fire in your heart
Or put it out

Let my words be life
Let my words be truth
I don’t want to say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

You can heal the heartache
Speak over the fear
God, your voice is the only thing we need to hear

Words can build us up
Words can break us down
Start a fire in our hearts
Or put it out

Let my words be life
Let my words be truth
I don’t want to say a word
Unless it points the world back to You
Let the words I say
Be the sound of Your grace
I don’t want to say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

I want to speak Your love
Not just another noise
I want to be Your life
I want to be Your voice

I wonder how many less words we’d all speak if God really did grant the prayer in this song: “I don’t want to say a word unless it points the world back to you.”
Wow.
How much are we saying that points the world to God?
How much are we saying that points the world away from God?
Would we dare making that prayer if we knew God would grant it as we request?

 

As we head into worship today, make this song your prayer. Ask God to make your words life, as God’s words are life. Ask God to help you speak truth, grace, love, mercy to others. Ask God to open your ears to what will be spoken through the Spirit today, and then move you to speak those words in action and speech.

Make this your prayer.
Make this your goal each day.
Speak God’s word.
Reflect God.

The words we use matter.
In so many more ways than we can imagine.

To God be the glory.
May our words (and lives) reflect glory.

Leave a Reply

