31 days: bruises

How often do we stop and think about the story of another person? All to often we are consumed in the story of “us” or “me” that we forget to stop and think of others. I’ll be the first to admit that all too often I focus so much on what’s going on in my life, for good or bad, that I forget to participate in the life of another by hearing their stories. Sadly we allow us to come first, but when we stop to think about it, that’s a complete 180 degree turn from what God has asked of us.

This song reminds us that conversation, learning about the other, catching up…all of it is vital to building and maintaining relationships. We learn to care for the other through their stories. We see God’s masterpiece at work through stories. We learn about ourselves through stories.

We learn about God through stories, too.

Stories shape relationships. Stories bring faith to life. Stories open our eyes. Stories break our hearts. Stories help us to rejoice with another, or bring us into empathy with the other. Scripture was written through stories passed down through generations, and through these stories in our Bible we’ve been exposed to a relational God, a life of faith, eye-opening realities, heart-breaking truths. We realize that God rejoices when we rejoice and God weeps alongside us as well.

Every time I hear this song, although it’s talking about two people catching up on each other, it reminds me that, yes, we do all have bruises. And those bruises tell our stories. And I’m called to stop and listen to the stories of others. I’m called to live into their stories and love them in spite of their stories, too.

Bruises, we’ve all got bruises. They make for better conversation. They bring us all to the level playing field of being human, living a life, and wanting to be loved and respected. Bruises are the result of damage. Stories are cathartic. I’m hoping that each time I hear this song I’ll be reminded that no matter the “stuff” consuming my life, the other person has a story, bruises and life, too. That stuff does make for better conversation. Now it’s my responsibility to engage others in conversation to learn about their bruises. They are, after all, their story, and were I’ll meet God in them.

 

Bruises
by Train w/Ashley Monroe

Haven’t seen you since high school
Good to see you’re still beautiful
Gravity hasn’t started to pull
Quite yet; I bet you’re rich as hell
One that’s five and one that’s three
Been two years since he left me
Good to know that you got free
That town I know was keeping you down
On your knees

These bruises make for better conversation
Loses the vibe that separates
It’s good to let you in again
You’re not alone in how you’ve been
Everybody loses
We all got bruises
We all got bruises

Have you seen him?
(Not in years)
How ’bout her?
(No, but I hear, she’s in Queens with the man of her dreams)
Funny, back then she said that about you
Que Sera. You’ll never guess who I saw
Remember Johnny B.?
Remember him? We were best friends practically!
Let’s do this soon again
Ten years, is that what its been?
Can’t believe how time flies by
Leaving you makes me wanna cry

These bruises make for better conversation
Loses the vibe that separates
It’s good to let you in again
You’re not alone in how you’ve been
Everybody loses
We all got bruises
We all got bruises

I would love to fix it all for you
(I would love to fix you too)
Please don’t fix a thing whatever you do

These bruises make for better conversation
Loses the vibe that separates
It’s good to know you’ve got a friend
That you remember now and then
Everybody loses

These bruises make for better conversation
Loses the vibe that separates
It’s good to let you in again
You’re not alone in how you’ve been
Everybody loses
(Everybody loses)
Everybody loses
We all got bruises
We all got bruises
We all got bruises

 

 

Leave a Reply

