31 days: friends in low places

We had a song picked out for our final dance at the wedding reception, but the DJ accidentally played it as the first song after the “special dances” were finished when my younger brother requested it and dedicated it to his girlfriend at the time. Being an extremely type-A personality, I marched my wedding-dress clad fanny over to the DJ and began to chew off his left ear when he tapped my shoulder and told me he was sorry and said “I’ve got you covered and I think you’ll like it.” He didn’t bother to tell me what “it” was, but it seemed to calm me down enough to walk away and enjoy the rest of my wedding reception.

Fast forward a few hours to the final dance of our reception and the DJ asked us to stand in the middle of the room and have everyone still at the reception form a circle around us to sing & dance the final song. Mason & I danced in place, twirling around as this song played and our friends and family swayed back and forth singing this song as a farewell. It’s one of the most memorable moments of our wedding day and fits the two of us so very well. Laid back, a-typical and fun. And we even have a video of this from our friend who served as our videographer for the reception. (The very same video that was shared later at some college friends’ housewarming parties…yes, parties…so that we could all relive the fun time we had.)  A few of our friends also used this song and circle as their wedding reception farewell, too. It probably says way too much about us and our friends, but we do love to have a great time when we all get together.

Friends in Low Place
by Garth Brooks

Blame it all on my roots, I showed up in boots
And ruined your black tie affair
The last one to know, the last one to show
I was the last one you thought you’d see there

And I saw the surprise and the fear in his eyes
When I took his glass of champagne and I toasted you
Said, “Honey, we may be through
But you’ll never hear me complain”

‘Cause I’ve got friends in low places where the whiskey drowns
And the beer chases my blues away and I’ll be okay
I’m not big on social graces, think I’ll slip on down to the oasis
Oh, I’ve got friends in low places

Well, I guess I was wrong, I just don’t belong
But then, I’ve been there before
Everything’s all right, I’ll just say goodnight
And I’ll show myself to the door

Hey, I didn’t mean to cause a big scene
Just give me an hour and then
Well I’ll be as high as that ivory tower
That you’re livin’ in

‘Cause I’ve got friends in low places where the whiskey drowns
And the beer chases my blues away and I’ll be okay
I’m not big on social graces, think I’ll slip on down to the oasis
Oh, I’ve got friends in low places

I’ve got friends in low places where the whiskey drowns
And the beer chases my blues away and I’ll be okay
I’m not big on social graces, think I’ll slip on down to the oasis
Oh, I’ve got friends in low places

I’ve got friends in low places where the whiskey drowns
And the beer chases my blues away and I’ll be okay
I’m not big on social graces, think I’ll slip on down to the oasis
Oh, I’ve got friends in low places

I’ve got friends in low places where the whiskey drowns
And the beer chases my blues away and I’ll be okay

 

This song not meaningful to me only because of the wedding reception, although that memory is enough to make this song special. This song is special because it’s about friendship and appreciating friends. Yes, some have said this song is merely about the man’s love of alcohol, but I choose to think it speaks to friends and really recognizing them for who they are – the ones who stick with you, are always there with you, and who love you for and in spite of your true self.

Moving away from my South Carolina/North Carolina home, friends and family has been hard, especially on this introvert. While things have gotten easier, some things still remain hard, like finding a new core group of friends. I think this is not just true of my move, but of everyone who moves away from their roots to branch out. Being away has meant missing so many friends, while gaining new ones. So when I do get to be around my “old” friends and relish in the blessing of their presence, I am grateful and humbled. This song makes me think of them, and reminds me of how much I love my friends and feel loved by them in return.

This week Mason and I are away from home at a conference that doesn’t supply childcare and have been in need of help – and our friends came to the rescue. We’re blessed with friends (i consider my mom and dad friends, also) who will travel and meet us at the away destination, navigate caring for our children around our conference schedule, navigate all of that while staying in a hotel, and still love us and want to spend time with us WITH our children after having spent all day with the same children. AND, on top of that, while were at this conference, we’re getting to catch up with some newer “old” friends who we don’t get to see very often. AND this weekend we get to spend time with my brother’s in-laws, too, even without my brother or his wife being around. Now THOSE are some friends!

My heart is full.
I get to worship and learn alongside my best friend this week.
I get to share my children with dear heart friends.
I get to catch up with fun, baseball friends.
I get to enjoy time with new relative-friends.
What a blessed girl.

I have friends in some pretty amazing places.
While I don’t get to see them all nearly as much as I’d like to see them all, I’ll take what I can get and continue to love them and feel loved by them from afar.

(note: this is not actually Garth Brooks, but enjoy the cover anyway)

Leave a Reply

