31 days: made to worship

Today I heard John Piper speak. I’m not going to say that he’s one of my favorite speakers, and I will admit that I did leave in the middle of his talk today, but his message (the part that I heard) reminded me of this song. The premise of the talk was actually about the them of the conference – Identity – and he reminded us of why we were created by God. Piper states that our purpose for creation is to both enjoy God and also bring God joy. In a round-about way he finally got around to worshipping God and how our worship brings God joy which in turn brings us great joy so that we can enjoy God the whole of our lives. Now, this idea is by no means a new one, I mean it is only the chief end of humanity according to question one of the Shorter Catechism, but the idea reminded me of this song and has had me singing it for the rest of the day.

This will be one of my all-time favorite worship hymns/songs, by my all-time favorite singer/songwriter.

Made to Worship
by Chris Tomlin

Before the day, before the light
Before the world revolved around the sun
God on high stepped down into time
And wrote the story of His love for everyone

He has filled our hearts with wonder
So that we always remember

You and I were made to worship, you and I are called to love
You and I are forgiven and free
You and I embrace surrender, you and I choose to believe
Then you and I will see who we were meant to be

All we are and all we have
Is all a gift from God that we receive
Brought to life we open up our eyes
To see the majesty and glory of the King

He has filled our hearts with wonder
So that we always remember

You and I were made to worship, you and I are called to love
You and I are forgiven and free
You and I embrace surrender, you and I choose to believe
Then you and I will see who we were meant to be

And even the rocks cry out and even the Heavens shout
At the sound of His holy name
So let every voice sing out, and let every knee bow down
He’s worthy of all our praise

You and I were made to worship, you and I are called to love
You and I are forgiven and free, yeah
When you and I embrace surrender, you and I choose to believe
Then you and I will see, you and I will see

You and I were made to worship, you and I are called to love
You and I are forgiven and free, yeah
You and I embrace surrender, you and I choose to believe
Then you and I will see who we were meant to be

Yeah, we were meant to be
You and I, you and I, yeah, yeah
Who we were meant to be

The next time you have a minute, listen to this song, then read Psalms 95 & 96. Take a minute to ponder the three together, then go listen to the song again. This actually makes a very unique personal bible study or quiet time exercise.

I truly believe that we were made to worship – in everything that we do. We were made to cry out in need/prayer when we can’t carry ourselves. We were designed to shout for joy at glorious sights we witness. We were created to offer ourselves not just to God, but also to our neighbors and even to strangers. We are programmed to rest, and we do so in the peace of knowing God and living into what God’s called us to be in this life. Everything about our life is an element of worship, and it’s all centered around a God who put us here for that very reason. Because even in the despairs of our lives, we are weeping and knowing that Jesus wept too, and in that time of crying our to God, we are still worshipping God’s greatness and majesty, which in turn gives us peace and joy – even in those deep valleys. And God delights in our worship, especially the valley worship.

Worship!
It’s what you were designed to do.
It’s who we are. Innately.

Leave a Reply

