31 days: hold us together

I’m actually surprised I hadn’t heard of this song before last year. I love the artist and tend to know the newest contemporary Christian music when it’s released, sometimes even before it’s officially released, but this one I didn’t know. Either way, I’m glad that I heard it last year because it’s a sweet song about the strength of love (in the romantic sense). And while you might think that I think it’s a meaningful song because it has spoken meaning into my life with my relationship with my husband, and while many of the situations listed in the song do remind me of our marriage (or most marriages for that matter), that’s not the reason this song holds a special place in my heart.

I was introduced to this song on July 6, 2012 and thought it was a sweet song, but it really hit a special place in my heart on July 7th…when my little brother married the love of his life and we all welcomed a beautiful woman into our family forever. Matthew & Katy had a soloist sing this at their wedding, and while I was standing up hearing these words, I was watching my little brother beam from ear to ear, slightly red-faced (as is a family trait of ours), holding the hands of his bride. My heart swelled.

I haven’t heard this song many times since that date, but when I happen to catch it on the radio or when iTunes decides it’s time for me to listen to the song again, I stop and smile and think of Matthew and Katy.

Hold Us Together
by Matt Maher

It don’t have a job, don’t pay your bills
Won’t buy you a home in Beverly Hills
Won’t fix your life in five easy steps
Ain’t the law of the land or the government?
But it’s all you need

And love will hold us together
Make us a shelter to weather the storm
And I’ll be my brother’s keeper
So the whole world would know that we’re not alone

It’s waiting for you knocking at your door
In the moment of truth when your heart hits the floor
And you’re on your knees

And love will hold us together
Make us a shelter to weather the storm
And I’ll be my brother’s keeper
So the whole world would know that we’re not alone

This is the first day of the rest of your life
This is the first day of the rest of your life
‘Cause even in the dark you can still see the light
It’s gonna be alright, it’s gonna be alright

This is the first day of the rest of your life
This is the first day of the rest of your life
‘Cause even in the dark you can still see the light
It’s gonna be alright, it’s gonna be alright

Love will hold us together
Make us a shelter to weather the storm
And I’ll be my brother’s keeper
So the whole world would know that we’re not alone

While we don’t live near them, Matthew and Katy are so very special to our family. Luke often likes to send them videos. Their picture is up in our house for us to see daily. We make face-time dates to spend time with them, and we text/email them often, too. Matthew and I grew up very close to each other, and despite the distance and new stages in our lives, we still very much love each other. It’s my joy to see the relationship that Matthew and Mason built while I was dating Mason, and continue to have today. I prayed for Matthew to find a wonderful spouse for whom I could have a deep love and respect as well, and God blessed us with Katy. You know you’ve found a good one when your brother’s wife’s parents are not just “her parents,” but friends you want to visit and see whenever you can, and friends with whom you share exciting family news and prayer requests.

So, thank you Matthew and Katy for introducing me to this song. You’ve given me a very sweet memory of your special wedding day. This song has become a “call to prayer” for me so that whenever I hear it, I stop for a moment and say a prayer for you both, your marriage and your family. I hope you feel the love that our family has for you, and feel the daily prayers we send your way – and the special song-induced prayers, too. We love you and pray blessings upon you, but also courage and strength for those times when it feels like only deep love is holding you together. You are deeply loved…in so many ways.

Leave a Reply

