national siblings day

Although I didn’t find out until closer to the end of the day on Wednesday, apparently it was National Siblings Day. (Despite Google saying that National Siblings Day is actually in April, everyone used Wednesday to share sibling love.) I shared love with my little brother (& his beautiful bride, my new sister) to wish them a Happy Siblings Day, along with many, many people on the Internet. I personally think that everyday should be a day for us to show love to our siblings, but that’s beside the point.

People say that you can’t choose your family, but on most days (everyday, actually) I’m grateful that God chose my family for me and saw fit to give me the parents and brother I’ve been blessed with. And I’m even more grateful that God blessed me with an amazing spouse and sweet baby boy to add to my family. I may have chosen my spouse and not been able to choose the rest of my family (patents, brother, son), but I’d choose them all again in a heartbeat if I had to do it myself. But when I stop to think about that, as I’ve mentioned to Mason before, if I was tasked with picking my family (or spouse) all by myself, I don’t think I could have done half as good a job as I’ve been lucky enough to have.

All that being said, we know that Luke could not choose us, or his new baby sibling to come in April, but our prayer is that God would fill his heart with as much joy and love for his future sibling as we have for ours.

20120927-221155.jpg
baby todd, round 2
luke’s little sibling

Luke, may you always know that God has given you a special friend and confidante in your new sibling, and may you always be excited to wish him or her a very Happy Siblings Day.

We already know that this baby is lucky to have you as a big brother because you are the sweetest, most energetic, most lovable baby boy that a set of new parents could have ever asked for! You didn’t pick us, and we didn’t pick you, but God picked us all to be together forever and always. What God brings together and blesses, no person can ever tear apart. We love you, sweet boy, and we are so thankful that your new sibling will get to call you Big Brother…forever and always!

4 thoughts on “national siblings day

  1. Wow! Congratulations Katie! Praying for you and this precious baby and that Luke would have the most special friendship with his new brother or sister.

    Like

  2. YAYAYAYAY! So excited for you guys. I hope you are feeling well and we can’t wait to hear about this new addition to your family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

