the countdown is on

I’ve been trying to write this post for a few days now, but I’ve not really found the words to write. Last night when I came home from dinner with friends, we curled up on the couch to catch the Robin Roberts ABC interview with Keith Urban. Robin asked Keith to describe his wife Nicole and he had trouble, merely saying that there are no words. I’m glad that someone so prolific as Keith Urban sometimes gets tongue-tied like the rest of us mere mortals. He was absolutely right, though…there are no words to describe what life will be like in a few days when Baby is here, or to describe the swirl of thoughts and prayers going through my head now about this beautiful gift from God.

I know that I’ve expressed to some of my girlfriends that I’m slightly saddened by the idea of giving birth, not out of any unwant of this child, but simply that giving birth means the end of one phase of motherhood for me. I’ve been so busy and focused on other things for the majority of this pregnancy that it’s only been in the last two weeks, really, that I’ve been able to stop, put it all on hold and focus on me & Baby. Knowing that, and knowing that sooner rather than later we’ll be literally holding our baby, I’m sad that I haven’t really taken the time sooner to focus on just Baby & me. I know that things have prevented that, and I’m grateful to God every day that my life changed drastically in these past 3 months, but I’m still a little sad that this precious time of “just us” is coming to a close so quickly.

On the other hand, though, I’m starting to get very excited about holding Baby and sharing this beautiful child with my husband. Mason is so eager to meet Baby and is so excited to be a Daddy that it makes me excited about seeing him into this next phase of our lives together. It’s been beautiful for me to watch and experience him to talk to Baby daily and read our nightly Bible Story to Baby that I can’t wait for him to get to do that while holding our child. He’s also done such an amazing job putting together the nursery and artwork that I’m ready to share Baby with him and have Baby experience this beautiful oasis that his/her Daddy has worked so hard to create. I feel so blessed as a mommy-to-be by my husband and our Baby, that I just can’t wait to see how life changes for the more exciting for all three of us.

Not too long ago we took some time to BabyMoon to one of our favorite spots in the world, Charleston, only to realize that it had been over a year since either of us had stepped foot in the Low Country, and that it was Baby’s first trip to the Holy City. It was so nice to just relax, pamper ourselves some, stuff ourselves silly with food, and truly enjoy time just the two of us before we become 3. I’ve always wanted to do a BabyMoon since reading about it, but never thought we could afford one…thank you Restaurant.com & Groupon for helping us make it a reality for me. It was the most wonderful three days of this year, and it helped me to really start to focus on the here & now, and prepare for the next part of the journey.

While we were there we took a side trip to Pawley’s Island to visit a few of my favorite shops (one of which was closed that day to prepare for a Christmas open house the next day), and have some maternity pictures made with the wonderful Christa Harder of Christa Harder Photography. I’m not going to reveal all of the pictures, as some of them are just for us, but I’ll share some of the favorites that have already been made public on CHP’s Facebook page. Again, I didn’t think I could afford maternity pictures, but Christa was running a special “mini session” deal and I was able to make it happen. (Actually, she was able to make it happen for us!) Christa, if you’re reading this, thank you for the wonderful afternoon & for making it such a fun, relaxing and exciting experience for us. We are thankful to you for providing us with such a special token to remember this special time in our lives.

 

“Yes, honey…we are actually having a baby soon.”

 

the obligatory “heart on belly” maternity shot

 

 

one of my favorite of my adorable husband

 

 

Daddy reading to Baby the story of Jonah.

 

If a picture is worth a thousand words, and even Keith Urban can’t find the words to describe something, I guess I’ll just let it be with the pictures and my limited vocabulary to describe the way I feel about becoming a mother so soon. I pray daily that God will give me what I need to be faithful to God and my family in raising this child, so I’m reminding myself that keeping Christ as the foundation of our family will help us get a pretty good start on this parenting thing. I know it won’t be easy, and I know there will be many, many more nights on my knees, but I’m looking forward to being a Mommy to this child of God, knowing that it’s my responsibility to care for & love this Baby for as long as God blesses me to do so.

Leave a Reply

