five years together

Dear Mason,

You already know this, but you are the love of my life. I could not have asked God for a more perfect match for me, and I could not have picked myself out a better partner for this journey of life. God ordained our marriage, as we know from our “broken road” past, and God has surely blessed our marriage as well.

You are my better half. Yes, I know that you think that I am your better half, but I think you are my better half so we’ll just agree to disagree there. You have helped me to realize the depths of love that I could have for someone else, and for you and that gift, I’m grateful. I did not think that I could possibly love someone as much as I love you, and I know that this love comes from Our God who so perfectly models love for us. You compliment me so perfectly, and I feel that I do the same for you as well. (At least, I hope I do for you as you do for me…)

Today we celebrate five years of marriage and over 10 years of friendship. While we did spend some time apart, I feel that I could not have truly loved you as I do today had we not spent time apart. Yes it hurt. But God gave me that time to realize the gift that I had taken for granted and not appreciated as I should have. You gave me forgiveness and openly welcomed me back into your life and your heart. But you made me work for it, and I appreciate that too. I think that is what helped to develop my love language of gifts and time…giving of myself to you and spending time with you are two of my greatest joys.

Today we celebrate another mile marker on our journey together. We’ve already weathered some storms in our short time together – heartbreak, health concerns, ordination exams, changing jobs, discerning calls – and we’re preparing ourselves for the next chapter of what life is bringing us. While we’ve had storms, we have had victories, too – survivorship, anniversaries, ordination exams, job changes, shared ministry opportunities, and soon hopefully graduation and a family. I feel that my life is more full when I have you to share in both the ups and the downs. I can’t imagine another person to travel this road with, and I’m so thankful that you’re still joining me on the journey. I give God praise for that everyday. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for us in the future, especially with you by my side.

I’m thankful that you love and serve Our Lord with all of your heart, and I’m thankful that I get to serve alongside you. My heart overflows to watch you serve the youth and to hear you lead worship in praise to the Almighty. I know that without God’s blessings we would not be able to enjoy one another as we do, and I’m thankful for those blessings…and I look forward to the future. I knew when I met you that you were special, and I know now and continue to discover each and every day with you just how incredibly special you are. You do so much for me to show me your love, and I appreciate it even when I don’t tell you enough…or when I am a crabby wife.

I think we’re the lucky ones, Babe. I think we’re lucky to have each other, we’re lucky to have families that love us and support our relationship, and we’re lucky to have a Savior who would show us love beyond anything that we can fathom so that we could love one another. I may not tell you enough, but I’m madly in love with you to the point that I don’t have enough words to describe. For that, I apologize to you. I’ll have to spend some more time reading the dictionary and see if I can work on that for you.

As you heard on this day five years ago, I do promise to love you today and always…through the ups and downs…through sickness and health (although you win that prize, buddy!)…through joy and sorrow…always and forever.

Thank you for loving me. Thank you for modeling Christ to me in your life, your ministry, your love for me. Thank you for putting up with me on my bad days, and for being elated with me and gleeful with me on my good days. Thank you for making my life so special.

I love you, Mason…more than I can express.

All my love,
Me

“Beloved, let us love one another, because love is from God; everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. Whoever does not love does not know God, for God is love. God’s love was revealed among us in this way: God sent his only Son into the world so that we might live through him. In this is love, not that we loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the atoning sacrifice for our sins. Beloved, since God loved us so much, we also ought to love one another. No one has ever seen God; if we love one another, God lives in us, and his love is perfected in us.” 1 John 4:7-12

Leave a Reply

