lead me

As promised, I’m posting something that’s inspired me.

This is a podcast from Matt of the band Sanctus Real in which he speaks about the inspiration for a new song called “Lead Me.” Matt speaks about the hard times that come in a marriage, quite openly and honestly, and about how he was able to get down on his knees and turn it over to God.

As I move into my 6th year of being married, I realize more frequently now that it’s not all roses. As much as I’d like it to be, there is nothing perfect about any marriage…no matter how much someone says theirs may be perfect. And I consider myself lucky because I have a devoted husband, a partner in life and ministry, a caregiver and a lover in my spouse. I try to be all of those things to him each day, but there are days when we all fall short. There are days when our expectations of our spouse are so high that nothing they do can possibly be close enough to what we “need” or want from them that day. And that’s not fair to our spouses, but we’re human. That’s the way life happens.

God has not promised us an easy road on anything, but God has promised to never leave or forsake us. I’ve learned that a lot lately with some life changes, but even resting in the knowledge that God’s not left me, I still struggle with the hard times. God has given us partners in life who represent God’s love and promises to us in human form that we can touch, taste, see, hear and recognize. How often do we take this for granted, though?

As I near my anniversary, knowing that my personal struggles are affecting my relationship on some days, I have been spending a lot of time in “near-desperation” prayers to God. I’ve been asking God to take the hurt from me so that I can love the way I want to love. I’ve been asking God to give my husband patience and understanding enough to still love me, knowing that I will one day come out of this funk where I currently reside.

I know that this song was written by a man for husbands, but it struck a chord with me this morning…and I think it can be used for anyone who wants to find the words to pray for God to lead them on the journey of marriage, partnership, parenthood and spiritual leadership.

“The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”
Deuteronomy 31:8

Leave a Reply

