god bless accountants

When I finished giving my children’s message on Easter Sunday, our worship leader got up and said, “There’s a special place in Heaven for the givers of children’s sermons.” Everyone laughed but totally agreed, myself included.

 

That’s how I feel about accountants…there has to be a special place in heaven for them. And I say this because I’m doing my own taxes. Honestly, there’s nothing unusual about that statement since I do them every year…I’m just having some issues with them this year.

Let me first preface this by stating that I have NEVER been this late in filing my taxes before…it’s just been that crazy of a semester & start to life in the church building. Along with those flamingos…

I’ve spent most of my day on the phone with other Turbo Tax users and also a lovely woman named Allison from the IRS. She was fabulous! I had suspected that my “red flags” were for good reason, but I’m still perplexed as to why Turbo Tax essentially wants to count my scholarships as income when they were used solely for qualifying educational expenses. And apparently I’m not the only one having an issue with Turbo Tax on education this year…there are a LOT of questions on the Live Community online about the exact same type of subjects. (Go figure, the answers from the Live Agents are quite vague and not really helpful…)

 

Oh well. I got my answer from the IRS and now am armed with resources, too. I’ll finish up tonight and finally get this stuff mailed off tomorrow. Yeah for having it out of my house and hair.

 

And God, please be extra nice to all of my accountant friends. They’re practically saints! It’s hard enough doing your own taxes…you couldn’t pay me enough to do another person’s taxes, too…

Leave a Reply

