sweetest words

I got a phone call late yesterday afternoon that I’ve waited on for a week. Last week I had my 5 year radioiodine treatment for thyroid cancer and I’ve been waiting to hear the results from my endocrinologist:

 

“Your scan is CANCER FREE”

 

Short of “I do,” those are the two sweetest words that I’ve heard come out of someones mouth when spoken to me. Not that I had huge doubts, but there is always the small little twinge that the results may not come back quite as you hoped they would.

 

When Dr. Kemick’s office called yesterday I was relieved, excited and may have even squealed into the phone at the nurse. I then called my hubby, who followed those sweet words up with a few more sweet words:

 

“I love you more than anything in this world.”

 

All in all, it was a pretty great ending to the day…and week of waiting.

Words can’t describe the relief that I feel knowing that my scans came back clean, and that I’m not forecasted for another round of treatment for  a while now. As I told Hubby last night, it’s now time to move on to the next phase of our life…a long life together without the “C” word involved! I’ve officially passed the 5 years of treatment that were required of me…now I’m moving on while remembering how blessed I have been on this journey and to have lived through it as a stronger, more appreciative woman.

 

Thanks be to God for this day, this news and most importantly, this life!

One thought on “sweetest words

Leave a Reply

