personal accomplishments

Most of you know that I’m participating in the bodyFIT eXtreme challenge. It’s three months of exercise 6 days a week and meal plans based on our metabolic type. In the first 30 days I had only lost 4.5 pounds, but I had begun to completely transform the shape of my body. (And to be quite honest, 4.5 pounds is a HUGE amount of weight for me to have lost. Afterall, I’m the one in the program that they didn’t think it would work for since my metabolism is regulated by a pill…thanks Synthroid!)

As I mentioned, we are exercising in classes 6 days a week. Mason and I actually only make 5 days a week and do a DVD of a class for the 6th day since we’re in classes in Charlotte every week for the 6th day of the program. Well, yesterday was my first time missing a class for work and to be honest, it put me in a bit of a funk. On my way home from work last night, at around 8:25, I stopped by the gym to pick up my hubby (despite having driven separate cars) and to say hey to my friends…I really missed them! Although I was exhausted, I knew that I had to go home and do some cardio and I was not looking forward to it. I was secretly hoping that a dose of my friends post-workout would give me the energy needed to go and jog around the neighborhood when I got home.

Now for those of you that know me well, you’re still chuckling at the last sentence. I know, I know…me, run, jog…anything that requires more effort than a fast walk?!? You can stop laughing now…because it happened! I actually went home at 9:00 at night after a day on my feet being extroverted at the career fair and then teaching resume writing to my sorority…I took a RUN around the neighborhood!

We have a route mapped out from our mailbox back around to our mailbox that is exactly 1 mile. You have to run on certain sides of the road and cross at the right points, but it’s exactly 1 mile and it’s what Mason uses when he runs. I knew going into this that I’ve never run a full mile without stopping, but that if I could just do at least 1/2 of it, I’d be super happy. So I tied my shoes, wrapped my shin-splinted leg, gathered my coach (Mason) and turned on the iPod…

Mason promised to stay at my pace with me and encourage me along the way. We started out at a really good pace and before I knew it, he was saying crazy things like, “Way to go Babe! You just ran 1/4 mile!” And I was feeling crazy feelings like…wow, I’m not tired yet! So we turned the corner and headed up the hill. At the top of the hill was 1/2 mile, and I was starting to feel my legs a bit…and the breathing was harder. We pushed through, my coach encouraging me to slow down at the top of the hill but I didn’t listen. I was afraid that if I slowed down, I would stop altogether. We rounded corner #3 (I sound like I’m at a NASCAR race here…) and my coach made me “coast” down the hill into turn #4 so that I could rest a bit. At about turn #4 I started to hurt…badly. But at that point I was also listening to a good song and I had an excellent coach pushing me and I knew that the house was really just around turns #5 and #6 and I wanted to do this thing! At 1/2 way between turns #4 and #5 I started to fall apart…and my coach just kept pushing me…and it HURT! It was then that I as politely as possible through gasps of air told my coach to “SHUT UP PLEASE!” He did so immediately and then about 20 seconds later responded equally as well to my request, “Okay, TALK PLEASE!” (Yeah, I’m slightly schizophrenic when it comes to what I want to hear while I’m in agony.) Right about turn #5 I was literally about to give up physically, but mentally still wanted to be in this game. Every bit of my body hurt, but I was NOT giving up…I am stubborn and I wanted to finish that mile! My coach kept encouraging me, even offering his hand for support (which I snuffed off, I ain’t no sissy needing help afterall) and we made it to turn #6. I was talking to God very loudly just asking God to get me home and there it was…the mailbox! I’ve never been so happy to see that piece of metal with an overgrown bunch of Yellow Jasmine in my life. I was almost there and before I knew it…I was done! I had just completed a full mile run without stopping once, in under 10 minutes time!

I hurt with every fiber of my being and my chest was burning from breathing in the cold air, but I had just finished and boy was I proud. I wanted to stop. I wanted to curl up into a ball. I wanted to cry, but I also wanted to march straight down to my trainer’s house (yep, we’re “lucky” enough to live in the same neighborhood as Jamie) and knock on his door and brag about what I had just accomplished.

Just 60 short days ago I would never have thought I could have even completed a mile run without stopping. And here I did it…in under 10 minutes, too! And I’ve never been prouder of myself…I pushed through and met my goal and did better than I thought I would!!!

I’m still feeling a bit of soreness in my abs today because you apparently use them while you’re running…who knew? But overall, I’m grinning from ear to ear, and I’m secretly looking forward to my next mile run with hubby. Just don’t tell HIM that… 🙂

 

And to keep everyone updated on the progress…here’s a picture from the cruise, right around Day 35 on the program. Enjoy!

  cruise 2009

One thought on “personal accomplishments

  1. YAY Katie! I finally had to admit to Patrick that I kinda like running. If you stick with it, it gets much easier and now I’m up to about 2 1/2 miles. Like you I NEVER ran and now I look forward to going about 2 to 3 times a week. I found that it’s the only thing I do where I don’t think….at all…no swirling thoughts. Just running. I hope you stick with it. I want to run a race one day and maybe even do a triathlon. Hmm, maybe I need a bike first. 🙂 Glad your program is going so well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

