bodyFit extreme challenge

bodyfit

 

 

So, here I am, minding my own business at work one day when my phone rings. It’s my mom. She tells me about this challenge thing that our gym – bodyFIT – is doing and she encourages me and Mason to sign up for it. That’s all of the information that I got. This peaked my curiosity, of course, so I had to do some Googling until I came across an invite to sign up for an audition time. I read a bit over it, then signed both me and Mason up for an audition…and told him about it later.

Two weeks passed by and we were up for our audition time. Mason called the gym, because I asked him to, to ask about the attire for the audition. They said that we should wear workout clothes, and if we look like we have less than 20 pounds to lose, we would be asked to take off our shirts for the camera. (Note: I don’t think my stomach has seen the light of day since birth!) So, being the smart one that I am, in order to avoid revealing my tummy to the camera, I wore tight pants and a form-fitting top. Mason wore soccer shorts and a t-shirt. We got in for our audition and BAM! The lights about knocked us over…they weren’t kidding about the camera. (Apparently this whole thing is being filmed for a video or series of some sort…remember, not much information known at this point.) They started asking us questions about why we wanted to participate, and then the real zinger. “You look pretty fit, will you lift up your shirt for the camera.” And it’s a zinger because they asked Mason, not me. CRAP! There goes my self-esteem. Good thing I’m going to have drinks at the theater with the ladies, huh?!

Well, neither of us thought we’d be invited to join since we were young, in relatively good shape, wanted to go through it together, and my metabolism is regulated by a pill and not naturally regulated. (Apparently those of us on Synthroid get the shaft because the food portion of all of this is based on your metabolic type…and my metabolism is not naturally made.) Since we didn’t think we’d get called, we went about our regular lives and then all of the sudden it came…THE CALL. No, not the one about a life of service in the church. The OTHER call. The one saying we’d love to have you on the show, come on Saturday for your assessment and photos. I freaked out…to the point that all I could do was laugh. I mean, God promises not to give us more than we can handle, right? It’s not like the bodyFIT extreme challenge requires us to workout and eat according to a new plan for the next 90 days of our lives or anything. What about when we’re in class on Saturday? What about the fact that we’re gone the whole first week of this thing and then again in September for a cruise? Seriously God, what are you trying to say here?!?! I didn’t think I could handle much more on my plate, but God thought otherwise.

We went to the initial assessment and filming after being told that we could still participate despite missing the whole first week. (Actually, 9 days!) I had to go through hair and makeup, then Mason was put front and center as we were both weighed, measured, photographed and had a body fat analysis. There are not too many men in the program, so he was videoed every step of the way. Thank goodness I wasn’t! Then they interviewed us, talked to me about how this my affect my life as a cancer survivor, and even made us shut into the camera that “We are the Todds, and we’re ready to get extreme!” It was during this interview that I learned that the only reason Mason was participating was to “support my wife.” Really? Seriously? What a great guy! After our fitness test – where Mason threw up on the ride home – we left town for a week at Montreat Youth Conference. We tried to eat well since we had eaten every bad thing under the sun post-call and pre-video: San Jose, Chick-Fil-A peach milkshake, Rockaway’s burger, Fuddruckers, Grilled Teriyaki…you  name it we probably ate it over a 3 day time-span! Anyway, we tried to behave while in Montreat – we walked everywhere, drank lots of water, tried to eat well, etc. Little did we know what we had waiting for us on Monday night.

On Monday we walked into the gym and were greeted by all of the 7:30PMers (there is a group that meets in the morning, and one at night) who laughed at us because it was our first week and they had already survived one. They suggested lots of Alieve and epsom salt baths each night following a class. They encouraged us by saying that they were finally able to sit on a chair regularly by Thursday of the week before. And they were just l-o-v-e-ing the protein shakes and bars on the meal plans. (Insert favorite adult word here. That’s what I was thinking.) So class began and Jamie, the trainer at bodyFit and Boardroom Health Solutions, started the class with these things called burpies. I call them “throw-up-ies.” That’s the best way to describe them. That was our warm up and it only got worse from there. Praise the Lord that we have no – and I mean NO – downtime in each class, so the time went by very quickly and before we knew it, it was 8:30 and we were heading home. Heeding the advice given us by the “old-timers,” we stopped by Target on the way home and picked up some Muscle Milk protein shakes, yoga stretch bands, a big bottle of Naproxen Sodium, and some Gatorade Fierce. I got home, popped two pills, rinsed off and then laid down on the couch to stretch some more with my new bands. If it were not for the stretching, I would not have been able to move on Tuesday…

Flash forward to today – we’re both a wee bit sore, but nothing we can’t handle. We’re having a great time, and we’re getting our butts kicked into shape at the same time. I’ve been asked what the classes are like, if they’re like our normal gym classes, and I can easily say that they are NOTHING like what we do normally in a bodyFIT class. It’s funny to see the 6:30PM bodyFITters hang around after their class so that they can get a sneak peek at what we do in our classes. Last night we warmed up to “Cupid Shuffle” and Jamie had us doing aerobic moves in place of the actual dance…he makes workouts fun! Tonight will be another cardio night, so I’m sure that will mean more “burpies,” but with Jamie leading the class and us taking it alongside our new friends, it’s guaranteed to be a good time.  That is, assuming we can actually move enough to participate! 😛

 

Stay tuned for more updates over the next few months…

 

 

Oh, and to all you regular bodyFITters, the classes are open to regular members after the extreme challenge participants have signed in to take the class. If you want a challenge in your workout, come join us! We have lots of fun…and we’re already seeing a difference, too!

 

One thought on “bodyFit extreme challenge

  1. I am laughing out loud reading this! I can’t believe you have time to add yet another challenge to you life…you go TODDS. I’m super impressed and can’t wait to see how the rest goes. Ohh and I started running…darn that Patrick.

    Like

Leave a Reply

