My Mama

In honor of Mama’s Day (yes, I have a Mama and not a Mother), I want to give a “shout out” to my totally awesome Mama, Candy.

I didn’t always feel that she was “totally awesome” because I went through the typical teenage years of thinking she “totally sucked”…only to find out later that it was really my attitude on life that totally sucked. Go figure, I was a teenager in high school after all. Now that I’m an adult and have a life of my own and realize just how difficult it is to make grown-up decisions, I have a great love and respect for Mama. She’s truly my best gal pal, and I’m so thankful that I have her.

It’s a really comforting thing to know that Mama is not too far away, and to also really miss her when I don’t get to see her or at least talk to her throughout the week. I live a spoiled and very blessed life! What can I say??

While I didn’t get to spoil her like I would have wanted for Mama’s Day, I did get to see her at church and enjoy lunch afterward. I just love sharing things with Mama, and I was so happy that she was able to be at church on Sunday morning to see “my youth” lead worship for Youth Sunday. We included a special mother’s day tribute video, and we also had one of our juniors (and one of Mama’s Montreat house kids) preach. It truly was a special treat. I felt so proud to be a “youth mama,” as they affectionately referred to me yesterday, and even more proud to share them and their leadership with my Mama. It was a special blessing, and I think Mama would agree.

Mama and I have a very special relationship…the friendship I asked for when I was in high school but was very quickly told would never happen since she’s my mother and not my friend. Boy, I’m glad we outgrew that stage of life. I truly cherish when I get to spend time with her, and I’m so thankful that she’s back to her healthy, happy, silly self. I’m also thankful that my Mama and I have a relationship where we speak truth in love to each other. Me more so about her fashion decisions, she about her concerns for my sanity over life decisions concerning school and work.

And of course, who doesn’t need a regular pedicure partner?!?

I’m so thankful for my Mama’s love and care of me. Her card yesterday said that I learned about myself from watching her…and it’s all true, and I’m so proud to say that I’m her daughter. I love you Mama. Thank you for loving me!

August 2008 001

Gracious God, you have given me an abundance of blessings starting first and foremost with the family you gave to me to raise me. I am so thankful that you picked them to raise me, to nurture me, to love me, and to teach me all about you. I thank you all the time, but especially today for my Mama. She is an amazing disciple of yours, and I am honored to have her love me with the love that you give her to give to me. Thank you for allowing me to be her daughter…and thank you for allowing her to love me, even through the difficult years.

I thank you for her heart, that you are burning inside and that she shares her love of you with everyone. I thank you for her desire to serve your children even through the mundane tasks of organizing meals and washing laundry on a church trip. I thank you that she cares enough for each of your children to pray for them and love them in visible and tangible ways that they may see.

I thank you for her strength and her unwavering faith. I thank you that she passed both of these traits on to me, and that she has a strong enough faith to help those who struggle. I thank you that she entrusts her family and friends to your care, and that she reminds us all of that. I thank you that she never faltered in her desire to instill in each of her children a passion for loving and serving you. I also thank you for her deep love and respect of her own mother that she models to her children. Her example has taught us to love and respect others more deeply, and for that I am grateful.

I pray that you would continue to bless her and keep her close to you now and always. In Christ’s name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

