go bruce go!

I can’t help but share my excitement about the future of the PC(USA) under the leadership of our new moderator, Bruce Reyes-Chow. Bruce is a NCD (new church development) pastor of Mission Bay Community Church in San Francisco. He is a youngin’ in the eyes of the PCUSA, and he brings so much passion and energy to the church.

Being a seminarian in a denomination of which so many of it’s ministers say is dying is a hard place to be. With so much passion and desire to minister in the church in which I was raised, it makes me sad and nervous to hear ordained PCUSA ministers talk about what they see as a “bleak future” for the denomination. Maybe it’s “seminary optimism,” or optimism based upon my ministry in a NCD, or maybe it’s just proof that God has really called me into a ministry of change in and for this church, but I see so much hope for our denomination. And I’m so glad to see that there are others of us out there that see the same hope for the PCSUA!

As I understand from my professors and classmates who attended the 218th General Assembly this year, it was an exciting and energetic place to be. Bruce is basically a complete 180 degree turn from where the church has been headed for so long. It will be interesting to see the changes that take place over the next two years of his leadership, and you can bet that I’ll be paying close attention.

Here a video clip of his opening statement the night that he was elected moderator. I hope that you are able to see his passion for the bright future of our church and, therefore, see a bit of my excitement. To learn more about Bruce as moderator, feel free to visit is mod blog.

The future’s looking pretty bright, I’d say!

2 thoughts on “go bruce go!

  1. Wow, no pressure 😉 Thanks for the kind words and truly hopeful perspective. i really do see myself as part of a larger movement of change and transformation that is already happening. I hope that the institution can come along side of what is already happening. Look forward to keeping up with you all. – Bruce

    Like

  2. Thanks for stopping by, Bruce.

    We don’t want to put too much pressure on you, but there are LOTS of people in the Carolinas that have very high expectations for your moderatorship. 😉

    We’re very pleased to see a leader with such passion and energy, and I’m just personally stoked to see that it’s someone younger and who is involved in NCD!

    We’re praying for you, your leadership and your family – and keeping up with everything, too!

    Blessings, Katie & Mason

    Like

Leave a Reply

